Pattaya Links Golf Society…………Eastern Star………..Fri..Mar.8……..S/ford

Phillips Takes the Prize at Eastern Star


A visit to Eastern Star on Friday, 8th March ended an eventful week for the Pattaya Links Golf Society as forty golfers took the opportunity to play the tough course at an extremely generous price. The course was in fine condition and the greens are running well. Some bunkers seemed over-full but generally the course is well set up.

The field was set in two flights, cut at sixteen and under and both flights enjoyed a tough joust in hot conditions.


In the top flight Connie Walsh took fifth place with 29 points, three behind Pete Seil on 31. In third was American golfer Jon Dean with 33 points, one behind runner-up Tommy Marshall on 34 points. The flight winner was Canadian Brian Beaupre whose annual visit saw him win the flight with 36 points.


In the second flight things were even tighter with Len Jones staking fifth place on countback with 30 points. One point better was Tony Leng with 31 and Nigel Harrison took third with 32 points. Second place went to Richard Dobson, his back nine impressing as he reached a total of 34 points.

The flight winner was Irish golfer Derek Phillips whose 36 points gave him the Green Jacket on countback from top flight winner Brian Beaupre.

The near pins awards went to Dave Pettit (3), Andy Kelleher (6), Paul Durkan (13) and Pete Seil (17).

The consolation of the best front nine went to Murray Edwards (18 points) whilst Chris Walsh took the back nine award with 19 points.


 John Evans looked resplendent win the “wig”, befitting his low mark status and Tony Browne’s front nine score more than deserved the “silly hat”.

Phew! What a week it had been.


 “A” Flight (0-16)

1st  Place – Brian Beaupre (7 ) -36 pts

2nd Place – Tommy Marshall (7) -34 pts

3rd Place – Jon Dean (11) – 33 pts

4th Place – Pete Seil (3) – 31 pts

5th Place –  Connie Walsh (14) – 29 pts


“B” Flight (17+)

1st  Place – Derek Phillips (19) – 36 pts

2nd Place – Richard Dobson (30) – 34 pts

3rd Place – Nigel Harrison (22) – 32 pts

4th Place – Tony Leng (26) – 30 pts

5th Place –  Len Jones (31) – 30 pts c/back